Paterson Town Walk
A walking tour of Paterson. The historic town was established in 1833 and many of its current buildings are heritage treasures, dating from the 1800s, some as early as the 1830s. The Paterson River flows alongside the town and for the first 100 years of the town's history the river boats, sail at first and then steamships, were the life-blood of the town and the Paterson Valley. The North Coast railway cut the town in half when it opened in 1911. Paterson is named after Colonel William Paterson of the NSW Corps who led the first official European exploration of the lower Hunter Valley in 1801.
This walking tour was developed by Paterson Historical Society. The Society operates the Paterson Court House Museum which is open Sundays 11am to 3pm.
Get full experience in the app
Follow one of the methods and access all 32 places plus features like audio guides, navigation and nearby hotels.