The Archeological Museum of the Province of Salerno
Founded in 1927 and opened to the public in 1928, this museum was transferred into the architectural complex of San Benedetto, restored by the architect Ezio De Felice. Along with the remains of the “quadriportico” of the church of San Benedetto, that mark the exhibit on the ground floor, there can be seen the remains of the portico of the Castelnuovo Reale. Below street level are the remains fo the Longobard fortification (eighth century A.D.). The “viridarium” houses stone remnants from the Roman epoch, discovered in the city from the seventeenth century onwards, such as a Venus with dolphin, and Roman copies of the Aphrodite of Cnidos by Praxiteles, and the so-called “Grande Ercolanense,” or “Great Venus of Herculaneum.” In the museum exposition halls there are also two spaces dedicated to male and female dress items: on the one hand, helmets and large belts, on the other mirrors and objects of female adornment, such as exceptionally beautiful amber pendants. Another rich section is the one where one can admire items donated from private collections to the Province. Autore dei testi:Matilde Romito con la collaborazione di Silvia PacificoTraduzioni e voci:Italiano – voce Matilde Romito - Editing audio Associazione Culturale PrismaInglese – traduzione e voce Erich Nicholson - Studio Pippolaticomusic di Luca BechelliImmagini:Tutte le immagini sono di proprietà della Provincia di Salerno, autore Gaetano Guida
Get full experience in the app
Follow one of the methods to get a connected trip - the best itinerary linking 8 local favourites, the stories behind them and handy features such as navigation and nearby hotels.