The Archeological Museum of the Province, at Alta Valle del Sele
The modern town of Oliveto Citra developed around its castle, and dominates the high valley of the Sele river, in a position which since antiquity has favored relations with the settlements along the Sele, and also the Ofanto river. The seat of the Museum, inaugurated in May 2004 with first nucleus of finds from the first excavation campaigns of 1928-9, which uncovered 65 burials, is the castle that, though located at the center of the town, also dominates it, providing the visitor with a view of the important river artery. The archeological material derives especially from the necropoli, still only partially excavated, in the localities of Turno, Aia Sofia, Fontana Volpacchia, Piceglia, Cava dell'Arena, Vazze, Isca, Casale, and Cività, where remains related to the ancient village have been found, as suggested by the revealing place-name. The first research, encouraged by continual findings, began with a brief field campaign during the long summer of 1928, during which twenty burials in the districts of Turno and Civita were brought to light, and were resumed between September and October of 1929, with the discovery of another 45 tombs at Turno alone. While the excavations of 1928 for the most part recovered pottery dateable to the the most ancient epochs of habitation at Oliveto, the campaign of 1929 extended the chronological arc of the settlement, with evidence from later historical eras.Autore dei testi:Matilde Romito con la collaborazione di Silvia PacificoTraduzioni e voci:Italiano – voce Matilde Romito - Editing audio Associazione Culturale PrismaInglese – traduzione e voce Erich Nicholson - Studio Pippolaticomusic di Luca BechelliImmagini:Tutte le immagini sono di proprietà della Provincia di Salerno, autore Gaetano Guida
Get full experience in the app
Follow the steps to access all 4 places on the itinerary, plus features like audio guides, navigation, hotels nearby and more.