In 1872, Maj. Gen. John M. Schofield, commanding general of the U.S. Army’s Pacific Division, visited the Hawaiian Islands to determine the defense capabilities of its ports. In December 1908, construction engineer Capt. Joseph C. Castner arrived and began construction of the first temporary cantonment area, which would become Schofield Barracks. In April 1909, the War Department named the post “Schofield Barracks” after Schofield, who died in March 1906. The Secretary of War approved plans for construction and troop buildup at Schofield Barracks in 1911. When all of Schofield’s troops were called to war in 1917, construction was postponed until the early 1920s. In the 1930s, many of Schofield’s fields and streets were named to commemorate outstanding military leaders. Dec. 7, 1941, Japanese planes bombed Wheeler Army Airfield, engaging Soldiers at Schofield Barracks in the United States’ first battle of World War II. The 24th and 25th divisions guarded the Hawaiian Islands until the fall of 1942, when they deployed into the Pacific Theater. Before the 25th Infantry Division’s return to Hawaii in September 1954, Schofield Barracks was used as a training center. With the return of the 25th Inf. Div., there was a demand for more housing and facilities, resulting in another spurt of building. In the 1970s, upgrades included a new Commissary, youth and child care facilities, and restaurants.For more information on how to access Schofield Barracks visit:
Get full experience in the app
Follow the steps to access all 20 places on the itinerary, plus features like audio guides, navigation, hotels nearby and more.