Palanga Amber Museum
The Palanga Amber Museum is a subdivision of the Lithuanian Art Museum. The Palanga Amber Museum was established in the former mansion of Count Feliksas Tiškevičius and his wife Antanina Korzbok-Łącka. The Counts had it designed by the famous German architect Franz Schwechten. The mansion was built in 1897 and is located in the park, which was laid out by the renowned French landscape architect Édouard François André. This exceptional park is one of the most beautiful places in Palanga. After World War II, the Rest Home for artists was opened here. On 3 August 1963 the first exposition of the Palanga Amber Museum was arranged in two rooms of this house. The opening of the museum was an important event in the Lithuanian cultural life. Shortly afterwards, the first exposition grew into a unique and important centre of amber collecting, investigating and popularising and has become one of the most visited museums in Lithuania. At present, the collections of the museum consist of more than 30 thousand exhibits, 5 thousand of which are introduced to the visitors in the permanent exposition. Each year it is expanded, complemented and enriched by the newly acquired artifacts.The exposition introduces two principal themes: the formation of amber in the course of the Earth’s evolution and the use of amber in the history of culture. These themes are comprised of several subthemes. Visitors will have an opportunity to familiarise with the most important of them during the excursion.The first room of amber exposition is devoted to the formation of Baltic amber, its comparison with the amber found around the world and the fossil resins.
Get the best experience with the app
The Cya On The Road app gives you an itinerary of 29 hidden gems with fascinating stories, complete with audio guides, maps, top rated nearby hotels, cheap flights, car hire deals, attraction discounts and the best local eats.
Get the app now and search for Palanga Amber Museum.