Clifton Hill Heritage Walk
The confluence of the Yarra River and the Merri Creek was an important area for the local people, the Wurundjeri-willam.
The area now known as Clifton Hill (a name first used in 1871) became Crown land, until late 1855 when it was annexed to the newly formed municipality of East Collingwood. However, by this date east Clifton Hill had already been settled by contractors who used the local bluestone to build themselves houses. Noxious processes were established, with abattoirs from the 1850s, followed by a manure depot and tanneries. Most residential development took place later in the 19th century and 20th century.
Almost the whole of Clifton Hill is covered by two Heritage Overlays, HO316 and HO317.
Let's take the guide and walk back into the past and experience the history of Clifton Hill.
This tour is based on Yarra City Council's data.
Get the best experience with the app
The Cya On The Road app gives you an itinerary of 20 hidden gems with fascinating stories, complete with audio guides, maps, top rated nearby hotels, cheap flights, car hire deals, attraction discounts and the best local eats.
Get the app now and search for Clifton Hill Heritage Walk.